## CHARLESTON BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING April 23, 2018

The Charleston Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, March 23, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. in the Fine Arts Building. Members present were: Mr. Trey Gage, Mr. Jeff Hayes, Mrs. Michele Schmitz, and Mr. Brian Verkamp. Mr. Chad Keener joined the meeting via telephone conference. Also present were Mr. Jeff Stubblefield, Superintendent; Mr. Shane Storey, High School Principal; Mrs. Melissa Moore, Middle School Principal; Mr. Bruce Womack, Elementary School Principal; Mrs. Susan Brown, Federal Coordinator and Curriculum Specialist, and Mrs. Rita Gramlich, District Treasurer.

Mr. Chad Keener joined the meeting via telephone conference; Mr. Trey Gage established a quorum and called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m..

A motion was made by Mr. Jeff Hayes and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to approve the consent agenda as listed. Motion carried 5-0.

## Consent Agenda

- A. Approval of the March 26, 2018 regular minutes
- B. Approval of the 2018 Period 9 Financial Statements as presented
- C. The administration recommends approval of School Choice applications as listed:
  - I. Sunni-Brooke Smith, from Lavaca to Charleston
  - II. Eli Huck, from Paris to Charleston
  - III. Cooper Fitzgerald, from County Line to Charleston
  - IV. Coltin Fitzgerald, from County Line to Charleston
  - V. Hanna Rowland, from County Line to Charleston
  - VI. Pierson Sampley, from County Line to Charleston
  - VII. Jackson Armistead, from Charleston to Lavaca
  - VIII. Tyler Armistead, from Charleston to Lavaca
  - IX. Bailey Jones, from Charleston to Lavaca
  - X. Madison Jones, from Charleston to Lavaca
  - XI. Luke Law, from Charleston to County Line
  - XII. Kaydence Sikes, from Charleston to County Line
  - XIII. Luke Greenwood, from Charleston to County Line
  - XIV. Adam Owen, from Charleston to County Line
  - XV. John Owen, from Charleston to County Line
  - XVI. Kimberly Owen, from Charleston to County Line
  - XVII. Sarah Owen, from Charleston to County Line
- XVIII. Zoey Phelan, from Charleston to Greenwood

Information was presented regarding the dental provider at the School Based Health Clinic.

A motion was made by Mr. Brian Verkamp and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to approve the Community Service Learning Partner Application as presented. Motion carried 5-0. A copy of the application is attached to the original board minutes.

The latest school report cards released by the Arkansas Department of Education and the elementary and high school improvements plans were discussed.

Mr. Stubblefield reported information regarding district activity center soil testing and the survey/topo. Board members agreed to begin the process for steel bids to be developed and executed.

A motion was made by Mr. Brian Verkamp and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to approve the 2016-17 final report as prepared by Arkansas Legislative Audit. Motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Stubblefield reported the talking points of proposed policy 2.1.1 Superintendent's Responsibilities For District Security. No action was taken.

A motion was made by Mr. Jeff Hayes and seconded by Mr. Brian Verkamp to approve policies 3.54 and 3.54F as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Mrs. Michele Schmitz and seconded by Mr. Brian Verkamp to approve 2017-18 salary increases for all personnel currently employed as listed. Motion carried 5-0.

- A. Add \$500 to the base of the certified salary schedule
- B. Increase district treasurer and food service director salaries 1% (more than 29 years of experience)
- C. Increase all other classified salaries 2% (less than 29 years of experience)

A motion was made by Mr. Brian Verkamp and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to employ personnel as listed for the 2018-19 school year as listed. Motion carried 5-0. The list of personnel employed is attached to the original board minutes.

Mr. Stubblefield reported information regarding the below listed items:

- A. Elementary Musical, May 3, 9 a.m. & 7 p.m.
- B. Band Awards Night, May 8, 7 p.m.
- C. Baccalaureate, May 6, 5 pm, Life Church
- D. ASBA/AAEA Training, May 10, Little Rock Embassy Suites
- E. Semester Test Dates, May 23–25
- F. Graduation, May 20, 2 p.m.
- G. Kindergarten Graduation, May 21, 7 p.m.
- H. Spring Sports Banquet
- I. Approval of Summer Lunch Program, May 29—August 2
- J. Auditorium Lighting Project Update
- K. ALE Building Remodel Update

Mr. Trey Gage announced the board would go into executive session at 7:28 p.m.. After returning to regular session at 7:55 p.m., the following action was taken:

A motion was made by Mr. Brian Verkamp and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to approve 2018-19 resignations and employ 2018-19 personnel as listed. Motion carried 5-0.

- A. Accept the resignation of Gail Miesner, Aide
- B. Accept the resignation of Melissa Sutter, Aide
- C. Accept the resignation of Ruth Binz, Food Service
- D. Accept the resignation of Vonda Hudson, Janitorial
- E. Accept the resignation of Sharon Sharpe, Certified Teacher
- F. Employ Ron Keeling, Half-Time Bus Route Driver
- G. Employ Kim Scott, Food Service, with an annual salary of \$15,161 based on 180 days worked, 6.5 hours per day
- H. Employ Sherry Bowers, Food Service Manager, with an annual salary of \$17,380 based on 180 days worked, 6.5 hours per day
- I. Re-assign Michele Young from Food Service to Janitorial, with an annual salary of \$25,731 based on 220 days worked, 8 hours per day, effective July 1
- J. Employ Josh Hudson, Janitorial, with an annual salary of \$26,500 based on 220 days worked, 8 hours per day, effective July 1
- J. Effective July 1, 2018, increase the salary of Mark Scott to \$37,700 based on 240 day contract, 6.5 hours per day worked
- L. Reduce the 2018-19 contract of Shane Storey, High School Principal, from 240 to 235 days with compensation per the certified salary schedule
- M. Increase the 2018-19 contract of Milinda Wisdom, High School Counselor, from 216 days to 221 days with compensation per the certified salary schedule

A motion was made by Mrs. Michele Schmitz and seconded by Mr. Jeff Hayes to adjourn at 7.:57 p.m.. Motion carried 5-0.

President

Secretary