## CHARLESTON BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING February 24, 2025

The Charleston Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, February 24, 2025 at 6:00 p.m. Members present were: Mr. Chad Keener, Mr. Jeff Hayes, Mrs. Lauren Robinson, Mrs. Michele Schmitz, and Mr. Brian Verkamp. Also present were Mrs. Melissa Moore, Superintendent; Mrs. Rachel Fisher, High School Principal; Mr. Josh Underwood, Middle School Principal, Mr. Bruce Womack, Elementary School Principal; Mrs. Angie Haney, Federal Coordinator; Mrs. Rita Gramlich District Treasurer, Mrs. Pam Rankin, and Mrs. Stacy Mitchum.

Mr. Brian Verkamp established a quorum and called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Mrs. Stacy Mitchum was present to provide information regarding archery.

A motion was made by Mr. Chad Keener and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to approve the consent agenda as listed. Motion carried 5-0.

## Consent Agenda

- A. Approval of the January 27, 2025 Board Minutes
- B. Approval of the Period Seven 2025 Financial Statement

Mrs. Melissa Moore provided information regarding safety grant funding.

Mrs. Melissa reported that the board previously approved a quote for a school bus in January 2024 to be delivered this year. The serial number of the bus delivered is different. A copy of the correct serial number is attached to the original board minutes.

Mrs. Angie Haney presented the data related to K-4 Standards Based Assessments.

Mrs. Melissa Moore provided information as listed:

## Superintendent's Report

- A. Parent Teacher Conferences, February 25
- B. Spring Break, March 24-28
- C. 2025-26 Calendar Approval Request, March Meeting
- D. March Board Meeting Date, March 13, 2025 5 P.M.
- E. Expenditures:
  - a. Welsco, \$11,918, CTE Grant
- F. Transfers:
  - a. Alexis Collins, Lavaca to Charleston
  - b. Auryanna Collins, Lavaca to Charleston
  - c. Mayceigh Sheppard, Charleston to Ozark
- G. Acts 120, 122, and 123

Mr. Brian Verkamp announced the board would go into executive session at 7:01 p.m.. After returning to regular session at 7:35 p.m., the following action was taken:

A motion was made by Mrs. Michele Schmitz and seconded by Mrs. Lauren Robinson to accept the resignation of Carrie Davis, Food Service Director/Manager, effective February 28, 2025. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Chad Keener and seconded by Mr. Jeff Hayes to employ Teresa Little, Food Service Director/Manager, retro-effective February 24, 2025. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Lauren Robinson and seconded by Mrs. Michele Schmitz to add the 2026-27 school year to Rachel Fisher's 240 day contract. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Jeff Hayes and seconded by Mr. Chad Keener to add the 2026-27 school year to Angie Haney's 220 day contract. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Mrs. Michele Schmitz and seconded by Mrs. Lauren Robinson's 2025-26 and 2026-27 years to Josh Underwood's 240 day contract. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Chad Keener and seconded by Mrs. Lauren Robinson to accept the resignation of Bruce Womack, Elementary Principal, effective at the end of the 2024-25 year. Motion carried 5-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Chad Keener and seconded by Mrs. Lauren Robinson to adjourn at 7:41 p.m. Motion carried 5-0.

President		
Secretary		