## CHARLESTON BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING May 20, 2024

The Charleston Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, May 20, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. Members present were: Mr. Chad Keener, Mrs. Lauren Robinson, and Mr. Brian Verkamp. Mr. Jeff Hayes and Mrs. Michele Schmitz were not present. Also present were Mrs. Melissa Moore, Superintendent; Mrs. Rachel Fisher, Middle School Principal; Mr. Bruce Womack, Elementary School Principal; Mrs. Angie Haney, Federal Coordinator and Curriculum Specialist; Mrs. Rita Gramlich, District Treasurer, and Mr. Josh Underwood.

Mr. Brian Verkamp established a quorum and called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m..

A motion was made by Mr. Chad Keener and seconded by Mrs. Lauren Robinson to accept the resignation of Misty Hiatt, Instruction Specialist, effective at the end of the 2023-24 school year. Motion carried 3-0.

A motion was made by Mrs. Lauren Robinson and seconded by Mr. Chad Keener to accept the resignation of Robert Klomfas, Paraprofessional, effective at the end of the 2023-24 school year. Motion carried 3-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Chad Keener and seconded by Mrs. Lauren Robinson to employ Katherine Reames, Speech Pathologist, for the 2024-25 school year. Motion carried 3-0.

A motion was made by Mrs. Lauren Robinson and seconded by Mr. Chad Keener to employ Ryan Davis, Certified Teacher, for the 2024-25 school year. Motion carried 3-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Chad Keener and seconded by Mrs, Lauren Robinson to add 30 minutes to the work day of Danae Hudson for the 2024-25 school year, with additional compensation of \$1,268. Motion carried 3-0.

A motion was made by Mrs. Lauren Robinson and seconded by Mr. Chad Keener to approve the transition of Pam Rankin's job duties from Middle School Secretary to business manager training, with no change in 2024-25 contract terms. Motion carried 3-0.

A motion was made by Mr. Chad Keener and seconded by Mrs. Lauren Robinson to approve reassigning Connie Lachowsky from Paraprofessional to Middle School Secretary for the 2024-25 school year. Motion carried 3-0.

Mrs. Lauren Robinson left the meeting area and rejoined the meeting via telephone conference for the remainder of the meeting.

A motion was made by Mr. Chad Keener and seconded by Mrs. Lauren Robinson to approve the consent agenda as listed. Motion carried 3-0.

## Consent Agenda

- A. Approval of the April 22, 2024 Special Minutes
- B. Approval of the Period 10 2024 Financial Statements
- C. School Choice Applications:
  - a. Christian Helton—From Booneville to Charleston
  - b. Royce Doyle-From County Line to Charleston
  - c. Mathew Scott—From County Line to Charleston
  - d. Payton Klien—From Charleston to County Line
  - e. Jarger Archey—From Greenwood to Charleston
  - f. Meya Archey—From Greenwood to Charleston
  - g. Jasper Archey—From Greenwood to Charleston
  - h. Blake Pair—From Charleston to Hackett
  - i. Raegan Ralston—From Lavaca to Charleston
  - j. Mason Glidewell—From Lavaca to Charleston
  - k. Bryson Wibbing—From Lavaca to Charleston
  - 1. Jake Wibbing—From Lavaca to Charleston
  - m. Riley Johnson—From Lavaca to Charleston
  - n. Allison Edwards—From Charleston to Lavaca
  - o. Easton Fox—From Charleston to Ozark
  - p. Macy Fox—From Charleston to Ozark

Mrs. Angie Haney presented a food service data report.

Mrs. Melissa Moore reported the following information:

- A. Last Day of School, May 23
- B. Heritage Portraits Invoice, \$20,000
- C. Agricultural Program Update
- D. Retention Bonus

A motion was made by Mr.	Chad Keener and seconded by	Mrs. Lauren Robinson to adjourn at
6:40 p.m Motion carried 3-	0.	

President	Secretary	